Sugar Drops [LP]


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 08/02/2019
UPC: 033651031314

Sugar Drops [LP]
Artist: Davina & The Vagabonds
Format: Vinyl
New: Not in stock

Available Formats and Editions


1. Bone Collection
2. I Can't Believe I Let You Go
3. Devil Horns
4. Little Miss Moonshine
5. Sugar Drops
6. Another Lonely Day
7. No Matter Where We Are
8. Mr. Big Talker
9. Magic Kisses
10. Deep End
11. Holy Cow
12. Stop Playing with My Heart
13. I'm Gonna Take My Heart
14. Goodnight
15. I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl

More Info:

SUGAR DROPS is the first album on Red House Records from Davina and the Vagabonds and marks the first time singer/songwriter/pianist Davina Sowers entered a proper studio to record an album. The Minneapolis-based artist holed up in Nashville's Compass Sound Studio with producer (and Compass Records co-founder) Garry West, along with her trumpeter, string arranger and husband, Zack Lozier, and a rotating cast of powerhouse players including Todd Phillips (David Grisman, Robbie Fulks) on bass, Doug Lancio (Patty Griffin, John Hiatt, Tom Jones) on guitar and Reese Wynans (Stevie Ray Vaughan, Joe Bonamassa) on Hammond B3. SUGAR DROPS is distillation of bluesy barroom baritone and bravado, graveyard jazz grooves, and noir-ish confessional lyricism backed by boisterous piano, guitar, and strings. Eclectic, engaging and instilled with a deep respect and knowledge for the Great American Songbook, SUGAR DROPS is the actualization of longstanding intent for Davina. "It represents about 100 years of Americana; I did exactly what I wanted to do," she says. Davina and the band are constantly on the road, touring throughout the world they've earned feverish acclaim from the Chicago Tribune, NPR, and more in addition to performing on BBC's international favorite late-night program Later... with Jools Holland and appearing on PBS's Bluegrass Underground.

  • Portions of website licensed by MediaNet
  • Website Platform by Broadtime
Copyright © Tunes| New and Used CDs, DVDs, Vinyl & More!